Google v. Hunter Valley, Hunter Valley Wins.

Pretty much the first conversation I had with my new boss went as follows:
Me: I think I can start the first week of October
My New Manager: You should fly out the week before, so you can participate in our three day cross functional offsite
Me: Sounds interesting
My New Manager: Yea, it’s three days in Wine Country
Me: Done.
Week 1, day three. Google Australia & New Zealand take over the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley. During my pre-Sydney arrival, I was sent a Google site with details on the event. I immediately brushed off the requirement that ‘everyone bring a carnavale themed outfit’, however apparently Australia takes their costume parties very seriously…This would never happen in the US. Costume party win.
Some Googlers:
Brazilian Band:
Brazilian Dancers (+ 1 aggressive Googler):

Google Australia Marketing Team. My costume ended up being something between the riddler, and a Bonobos sponsored leprechaun. (Blonde Wig is my new boss):
Lessons Australia can learn from the US:
1) Late night should be company sponsored
2) Tequila shots are not meant to be poured into big glasses with ice in them
3) Bud light hangovers are significantly less harmful than whatever they serve down here.

This did not taste good:

Last day of the offsite, and you can feel the collective hangover in the air. Last thing to do is take a tour of wine country, which is actually quite nice:
“Very dry at the finish” — uttered with approx 2-3x/hour frequency
Note the amount of untouched wine glasses:
Sweet Google hats (No really, they’re pretty sweet):

Leave a comment